Monday, May 10, 2010

Blackrock Rugby Festival Draw To Be On Wednesday

The 36 teams participating in this year’s Blackrock Rugby Festival will know the fate of who they are meeting on Wednesday, May 12th when the draw for the tournament takes place. The draw will be conducted at St. Mary’s School from 10am. Eight (8) teams will be seeded and placed into Groups A – H, while the other non-seeded teams will randomly drawn into the 8 different groups.
The tournament coordinator, Mr. Gregory Sang’, expects a tough draw not just for his Saints team, but for all participating teams. In the words of the sports administrator, “gone are the days when teams would get draws and refer to them as walk over’s – we have seen that on a good day, even schools like Kangaru High can beat any team in the country…”
This year, 24 of rugby’s heaviest hitters and 12 pioneering girls’ schools will go head to head in an adrenaline-packed tournament. The 2010 St.Mary’s Blackrock Rugby Festival the 27th edition of East & Central Africa’s biggest high school rugby tournament will be on Saturday the 15th of May.

Teams Confirmed for 2010 Event include:
Boys’ Teams; St. Mary’s School (2 teams), Upper Hill (2 teams), Strathmore, Nairobi School, Lenana School, Highway, RVA (2 teams), Dagoretti, Mutuini, Muhuri Muchiri, Ofafa Jericho, Jamhuri, Sunshine, Hillcrest, Rosslyn Academy, Ruthimitu, MFA, Mutungoni, Uhuru, NPC, Juja Preparatory

Girls’ Teams; Maono Educational Centre, Raila Educational Centre, State House Girls, Ruthimitu, Hidden Talent Academy, Nile Road, Saint Martins, Precious Blood Girls’, Saint Teresa’s Girls, Buru Buru Girls, Crescent Girls, Nembu Girls.

No comments: